top of page

Project MotherHOOD with Jennifer Clemendore



I currently work full time in an office, but look forward to exploring a new career with more flexibility once I have my second child, due next month.

I have been married for almost 10 years and share parenting responsibilities with my husband.

How do you define Motherhood?

Motherhood, to me, is being everything rolled into one for your child(ren). To be a provider, nurture, caregiver, confidant, disciplinary, friend and biggest cheerleader (even when you’re too tired to be any of those things). Knowing that you are your child’s entire world and doing the very best you can to live up to that role. Being a mother, you’re bound to make mistakes along the way, there will be days you lose your patience and pray for strength to make it through the day, but then you see that little smile and feel those little kisses and you wake up day after day to do it all over again.

What are a few things that help you recharge your batteries?

Meditation, running and hot yoga are my biggest outlets for letting off steam and recharging my batteries. A nice glass of vino never hurts either J, but it’s always a good sweat and a peaceful mind that brings me balance.

We do our best and can't do it all. Where do you allow yourself to be unapologetic as a Mother?

When I first had my daughter, I went back to work rather quickly. I felt so guilty about working long hours during the week that I put so much pressure on myself to make every weekend the best weekend ever. I eventually realized that she didn’t need a social calendar full of activities, but just good ole quality time. So, now our weekends aren’t jammed packed with activities and outings, but rather enjoying time together, whatever that may consist of, and I’m okay with that and so is she.

How has Motherhood inspired you?

Motherhood has inspired me to be the best version of myself I can possibly be. It has taught me to slow down a little and see life through her eyes. Most importantly, it has inspired me to go after my dreams and achieve my goals because I know there is a little girl watching and learning from everything I do.

Before I had my daughter I tended to play it safe. Some of my dreams seemed to be unattainable or too risky, so rather than go for it, I would take the safe route. I put college on the back burner to earn a stable income at a secure 9-5 and I always let fear of the unknown prevent me from taking risks. However, now that I have my daughter, Gianna, and son, Kingston, it's inspired me to go after what I want. I never want to see my children settle and not chase their dreams, and I feel that if they see me go after what I want, they will be inclined to do the same. So, after 10 years of working in the same field, I've decided to take a risk and change my career. I'm also in the process of finishing my degree, which has been a longtime personal goal. In addition to that, my daughter has watched me create business ventures doing what I love, party planning and sewing. My hope is that the inspiration I get from my children will ultimately inspire them to chase their dreams and never settle.

What's your favorite beauty must do when you are feeling exhausted on the inside?

When I’m feeling exhausted on the inside, taking time for myself is necessary. I used to feel guilty about it, but now I realize it’s necessary to be the best version of myself. Taking time for myself could be anything from a relaxing candlelit bath to face masks and quiet time with a good book. Bi-weekly mani/pedis have also become a must. It’s the little things that go a long way.

One of two: A note of compassion you want to offer a Mother reading this. Preferably something that might/could have been comforting to you at one point of time. OR Note to self.

I have seen so many mothers get so tied up in being a mother that they forget to take time for themselves to remember who they are. Now, I’m not telling anyone how to live or how to be a mother, but I have personally realized that time for myself is necessary. It helps me to be the best version of myself and it also sets a good example for my daughter. It’s okay to order a pizza one night and skip cooking dinner so you can head out with your girls to catch up. It’s okay to juggle motherhood while chasing your dreams. Wanting both should not make you feel guilty. You are still that person you were before you had children and, while you want to be everything for your child, it’s okay to feel like you are more than mother. You are a warrior and you can be whoever you want, and do anything you set your mind to, while still being an amazing mother.

Thank you Jennifer!

@itsmejenc

PM header.png
bottom of page