top of page

Project MotherHOOD with Shamara Saviñon



I'm a 40 year old married mother of two awesome boys ages 6 and 9. Married to a wonderful and supportive man. My oldest son Matteo was diagnosed with Autism when he was just 12 months old. I gave up my career as an executive assistant and put my dreams of being a singer on hold to care for him and to give him the attention and help that he needed. So now that he's where he needs to be socially and is continuing to make amazing strides academically, I now feel comfortable enough to move forward to my second at act as a Healthcare professional. And dare I say I may possibly get back into singing again.

How do you define Motherhood?

I define Motherhood as an honor. The greatest gift God had bestowed upon me. For me, it is hands down the hardest most rewarding things I've ever done with my life. The responsibility becomes heavy for me at times. So much so that when I lay down at night, I swear I can feel the weight of it all on my chest and in my head. But when I think about it deeply enough I realize I am responsible for the development of two amazing human beings. Who will, God willing, become contributing members of society. Who have the potential to do great things in life. The kind of children I raise will have a direct impact on society (and dare I say the world!). I know my point of mother-view makes it sound frightful, but in all actuality it's amazing. I am amazed that God chose me and saw fit to give me the world's greatest job title… MOTHER! I am honored, humbled, and extremely grateful for this great responsibility.

What are a few things you like to do that help you recharge your batteries?

Recharging is absolutely necessary. Whether it's going out to get your nails done or just going window shopping, it's important to do something that helps you unwind. I like to recharge by just being alone. Sometimes I go into the bathroom and I just sit there. I don't want to be spoken to and I definitely don't want to be asked questions. Recharging is good for the body, mind, and spirit.

Is there a Mother that has inspired your journey and if so, how?

My grandma Lottie has definitely inspired my journey as a mom. I can't even find the words to describe how amazing she was. Life was not kind to her. My mother, her daughter, was murdered when she was just 18 years old. I was a year old and my sister was 2 1/2. When I think about the strength it took for her to raise my sister and I...it brings me to tears. Not only did she raise us but she gave us the love our mother could no longer give. How can one have that much love to give when their heart has been metaphorically ripped out from the loss of their own child? That has always been awe inspiring to me. The love she found within herself to give to us was just tremendous.

Unfortunately, she passed before she could see me become a mom, the lessons she taught and the strength she instilled in me have enabled me to set my own self straight when necessary and keeps me from being weak in every aspect of the word. She hugged and kissed us when it was time and she whooped our butts when necessary. Lol

Although I parent my children a little differently, I am thankful for the way she raised me. She prepared me for Motherhood both mentally and spiritually. And that's what being a mother is about... Preparation for the separation of mother and child. And for that I am forever grateful.

How has Motherhood inspired you?

My purpose is clear. I've chased so many things in my 40 years on this Earth. Always looking for the next thing to fulfill me. But what I've realized is that motherhood has inspired me to look at myself. To dig deep. And on that journey within I've come to realize that being a mother is enough... giving of yourself day after day, until the days add up to create a life filled with love and memories your children will never forget. Somehow in this pressurized social media world of self-branding, things to do, places to go, and dreams to follow the beauty of simply being a mother is lost. For me being a mom to my sweet, smart, and hilarious boys is more than enough; it's amazing!

What's your favorite beauty must do when you are feeling exhausted on the inside?

Oh, that's easy…facials! I love to pamper my skin. I also love to do my eyes! I love to do them when I'm feeling a little lowly. It makes me feel strong and sexy!

One of two: A note of compassion you want to offer a Mother reading this. Preferably something that might/could have been comforting to you at one point of time. OR Note to self.

Note to self

You have the world's hardest job and the everyone from your family to the PTA president’s a critic. The last thing you should do is criticize yourself. There's no such thing as a perfect mom. Take it easy on yourself you're doing just fine, just take it one day at a time and enjoy the ride. And always remember to pay yourself at the end of the day… take care of you.

Thank you Shamara!

@fluidly_yaya

PM header.png
bottom of page