top of page

Project MotherHOOD with Sapphira Hill



I am an entrepreneur. I, along with my husband, own two cocktail bars in Brooklyn. I spend my days caring for my son and handling the daily responsibilities of the bars (banking, inventory, orders, staff, etc.). I spend most of my evenings at the bars overseeing Operations. My husband is an excellent partner both in business and home life. His tremendous support allows me the flexibility to work and mother. He takes over in the evenings and on weekends to allow mommy some freedom to work as well as have down time. I decided to become an entrepreneur after a decade of working ridiculously hard for someone else. I knew that my circumstance at the time would not allow me to an effective parent or even wife. It was terrifying but if I could share anything with someone who is looking to take the leap it's this: If you take pride in your work and have a great work ethic there is nothing more gratifying than knowing you put that energy toward yourself and your family. It just makes sense.

How would you define Motherhood in your own terms?

I define it as an ongoing journey to mold and shape an honorable, productive member of our society. I define it as striving to create endless growth opportunities for my child but also cherishing that I also grow in the process. I define it as love eternal; love unlike any I've ever experienced before. I define it as making a better person out of our son than myself and his father are.

How do you take time to center and recharge?

It doesn't happen as often as I'd like but I recharge by spending time by the ocean, visiting the countryside and getting a massage every so often.

What are you learning about yourself through your journey as a Mother?

I have learned that my patience level is a lot higher than I ever knew. I am still learning how to nurture without being overbearing. Most importantly I am learning that it's ok to let go and allow things to be.

How has Motherhood inspired you?

Motherhood inspires me to the best person I know how to be. This includes everything from food choices, communication, to lesson-teaching & physical fitness (and more!). I keep in mind that every single one of my actions & reactions somehow has an effect on our son and it keeps me in check.

What fears did you have to face or overcome within your journey as being a Mother and Entrepreneur?

There's certainly a level of comfort and security in working for a corporation. You have steady pay, paid vacation, sick days, health insurance, in some cases a retirement savings plan, etc. I don't recall ever having to come out of pocket for any medical procedures. You take those things for granted when you're accustomed to corporate life. So when it was time to go out on my own, I had to sacrifice just about everything I'd been used to. For me the biggest fear was that of becoming ill or not being able to afford paying for my son's insurance out of pocket, especially in our current political climate.

A must do for you when your energy is low.

Sleep! Lol! Man I'm still trying to figure that out so please share whatever your (& other moms) secret is!

One of two: A note of compassion you want to offer a Mother reading this. Preferably something that might/could have been comforting to you at one point of time. OR Note to self.

As many moms know the first several months of motherhood will send you in a tailspin. I say to those women who can't see the light at the end of the tunnel: Hang in there. Once a few months go by and you start to communicate with your child or you see their first smile or they take their first bite of food on their own Or even better - they say "I love you" on their own, it all suddenly becomes so clear what your purpose is.

Thank you Sapphira!

@prettyproblemnyc

PM header.png
bottom of page