top of page

Project MotherHOOD with Sandra Velez



I'm a Momprenuer: Single Mom or as I like to call it an Independent Mom :) Full time Mom & Full time Entrepreneur. I mainly work out of coffee shops, love to be inspired by the vibrant energy of people! It makes room for motivation.

How would you define Motherhood in your own terms?

I once thought being a mother could be easily defined as someone that cares for their off spring. Little did I know being a Mom has endless definitions - it's a cross between a magical, unexplainable experience of learning about yourself and caring for someone else.

What are a few things that help you recharge your batteries?

Mani/ Pedi is one my favorite to dos to take a break and reset. Yoga is a great go to as well. It not only exercises my body, but more importantly gives my mind an emotional reset.

Reading is a great relaxation tool at night once my son is asleep. I tend to read motivational books, they inspire me in the workplace and in parenting. One of my favorite books is The Alchemist: “It's the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”

We do our best and can't do it all. Where do you allow yourself to be unapologetic as a Mother?

Once a year, I give myself the gift of travel by going to a destination I have never been to. Yes, alone (without my son). Exploring and learning about different cultures helps me expand my ideas as an entrepreneur and expose my son to other cultures through souvenirs, books and maps.

How has Motherhood inspired you?

When I came home from the hospital with my son, I was by myself and didn't know where to go or what to do. I was looking for the instructions that came with my kid! Of course there were none. As he started crying, I cuddled him in my arms and had a face to face with him. Yes, he was 5 days old at this point. I said "Look, we're on this journey together. I don't have much experience and you don't either. So I'll work with you and you work with me! It's going to be an adventure and some things will be great and others not so great, but as long as we work together we're unstoppable!"

After that conversation, I realized that everything I did prior to motherhood didn't matter anymore. Before, I would work to buy material things and now I work for him. I want to provide him with the best schooling and expose him to all types of sports and everything else life has to offer. I want to my son to know anything is possible!

What's your favorite beauty must do when you are feeling exhausted on the inside and on the go?

Lipstick! I love throwing on a pop of color. It makes me feel pretty inside and out and makes me feel like I did something for myself.

One of two: A note of compassion you want to offer a Mother reading this. Preferably something that might/could have been comforting to you at one point of time. OR Note to self.

I share this with mothers everywhere and with myself: You are exactly where you need to be doing exactly what you should be doing. Stop apologizing for your child having a tantrum on the subway, saying something outrageous to a stranger (which is probably the truth) or breastfeeding in public. It's okay. They are kids and will do what kids do. As long as you're doing your best as a mother to provide for your child, you're being a great Mom. Remember you are someone's Super WOMAN! That alone should make you feel amazing because you are amazing!

Thank you Sandra!

@imsandrav

PM header.png
bottom of page