top of page

Project MotherHOOD with Porsha Ellis



I'm currently a freelance event curator & producer, so I pick up projects that give me the freedom to work from home some of the time. I choose this route as opposed to going back to work full time to be able to spend more time at home with my girls.

How do you define Motherhood?

Motherhood is all encompassing. It's helping your children find their way and guiding them along their journey. It's finding a way to always be present for them but also never forgetting about yourself. It's accepting that you can't do it all and being okay with that. It's the ebb and flow of failing miserably, then hitting it out the park. It's self-growth & discovery. But most of all, it's unconditional love!

What are a few things that help you recharge your batteries?

Meditation has been my jam recently. I try to start every morning with a least 10 minutes of silence and stillness. It helps me clear my mind and focus on my intentions for the day. Also, working out is a big thing for me. I'm usually in the gym or now have picked up running outside as a way to reenergize and recharge but at the very least, I try to do some type of movement every day.

We do our best and can't do it all. Where do you allow yourself to be unapologetic as a Mother?

SELF-CARE - no question about that. I find time for me. Some days it's only a couple minutes, other days I've scheduled an hour or two to "do me". As a mother caring for two young girls, it's really important to continuously fill my cup back up in order to give my all to my kids. It's not always easy but so important!

How has Motherhood inspired you?

Motherhood has inspired me to continue to be my best self. To continue to love and fully accept myself. I'm a work in progress but the best way to show my kids how to love, accept, respect and trust themselves is through my actions and the way I treat myself.

The biggest thing I've learned recently is that sometimes you have to make a leap of faith. It's never easy, but success usually lies outside your comfort zone. Trust you instincts & know that no matter your circumstances, everything will work itself out! I've doubted myself a lot recently & it wasn't until a dear friend validated something for me that I finally gave myself the credit I deserved. Moral of the story: we are good enough, we are capable enough, we just have to truly believe it for ourselves.

What's your favorite beauty must do when you are feeling exhausted on the inside? SPA DAY!!! But if that's not possible, a nice hot bath with Epsom salt & essential oils.

One of two: A note of compassion you want to offer a Mother reading this. Preferably something that might/could have been comforting to you at one point of time. OR Note to self. This honestly could be a note to myself or someone else:

You are not alone! I know there are times that seem unbearable or never ending. Times that you feel like you're the only one going through something. Times that you feel you aren't doing a good enough job. Times that you feel like you've failed. But don't give up. We all get through the hardships, we all find ways to pull ourselves back up, we all find that light at the end of the tunnel. You're never alone on this journey because there's a community of women behind you who truly feel for you and what you are going through. xo

Thank you Porsha!

@imraisingwisdom

PM header.png
bottom of page