top of page

Project MotherHOOD with Nicole Tirado



I birthed a business and a baby over the past year and is now raising both with self care, tea, and technology at the core. I ambinsanely committed to my health, financing Baby Phoenix's future and sweating it out, everyday. But this wasn't always the case - I had an unplanned pregnancy and actually wanted to abort because I wasn't ready and didn't imagine having a child as an unmarried woman. I was heart broken and miserable during my entire pregnancy. Until recently, I have finally been able to share my story of rising from this dark place and I owe it all to my morning routine, time and mental toughness.

1. The term motherhood is changing. How would you define the word MotherHOOD as it relates to you in this day of age? Motherhood is closing another Mother's carriage while she is juggling her baby, luggage, purse and taking off her shoes at TSA. Motherhood is connecting with strangers and lifting each other up with the smallest gestures that are actually the greatest help we need, but don't have time to ask for. 2. Motherhood is hard for all of us, what part(s) of it has been hard for you as a single mother? Prioritizing myself over Phoenix has been my greatest struggle. After my C-section, I couldn't walk for long periods of time or even exercise which is what used to energize me, so I was just tired all the time. I was in a funk and never admitted it to anyone - even myself. I stopped getting dressed, stopped moisturizing (which makes a real difference when you're my complexion) and didn't pay attention to my emotions and well being. I let myself fall into this black hole of just taking care of baby P and not myself. It wasn't until after 6 weeks that I realized how strong I had been for Phoenix but not for myself - and I noticed how weak, lethargic and stressed out I felt everyday. I finally admitted to myself that it wasn't a side effect of nursing every 3 hours. It was then that I established my daily routine of love and self care - moisturizing, working out, getting dressed, meditating and writing. I recently sprinkled in a no sugar detox and gratitude listing as part of my 30 Day Recharge Challenge. 3. We do our best and can't do it all. Where do you allow yourself to be unapologetic as a Mother? I'm unapologetic about taking time to decompress and get pampered. It's a non-negotiable - it's cemented in my budget. I get a monthly deep tissue massage and a luxurious Mani, Pedi. I also get Baby P to bed every night between 9-10:30 so that I can reset mi casa, pump milk, read something non-work related and write in peace. I've been writing ten ideas in a tiny notebook every night for the past few weeks and I feel like a kid again. I'm not inhibited by anything in those moments and that's what makes me feel refreshed. It's a way to reinvigorate myself and love on me! I'm also unapologetic about running my business - Phoenix has been on my breast during conference calls and more recently wailing in the background. She's had to join me at in person meetings as well. I used to feel embarrassed about it, but this is my reality and I can't make any excuses. I'm motivated by her future Valedictorian speech (hopefully) where she says - my mom was an amazing role model and defined tenacity and resilience. 4. Motherhood tends to create an opportunity to put things into perspective, what perspectives has it brought you? I used to be a people pleaser and extremely empathetic, always trying to solve someone else's problems are propel their idea to the next level. It got me nowhere. Now I am mega selective about where I sow seed and invest my time and energy. Protecting my time and energy are paramount. I have to keep them on a strict positive diet. I no longer entertain friends, social media accounts, Instagram memes or people that are not on my wave length or adding value to TeaRado Tech. 5. How do you balance your time between children, work and taking care of you?

Balance is a constant battle but I've figured out how to squeeze the most out of my 24 hours - I'm extremely committed to my morning routine of self care. My mantra is self care incites success. I use a combo of tech + tea to stay energized and focused on running tearado tech, nursing, and teaching Baby P her alphabet. I'm inspired by other women at the helm of their business and household as well. 6. One of two: A note of compassion you want to offer a single Mother reading this. Preferably something that might/could have been comforting to you at one point of time. OR Note to self. Note to Mamas: Self Care is Paramount to Your Kids' Success

Thank you Nicole!

@nicoletearado

PM header.png
bottom of page