top of page

Project Motherhood with Meserete Davis


1. How has Motherhood been tough for you?

I have always dreamt of being a mom, but when I heard the words "you're pregnant" it felt much different from my dream. I seemed to be the only happy and excited one. I was being told from all angles that I am going to ruin my life. At 25 and a college graduate with two degrees, I didn't think of motherhood as being a mistake. I thought of it as a blessing and I knew that I was ready to become a mom. Motherhood has been tough for me in so many aspects. I went through severe emotional and physical abuse from the father of my last two children and had to remain a happy, sane "Mom" through it all for my children. That honestly has been the toughest part of motherhood thus far, being present and seemingly un-bothered when your entire world is crumbling. Being a single mom of 3, I always feel like I am in a DAILY race to get everything done that's needed for the day. Making time to build and bond individually with each child, as well as taking time for myself can be super challenging. Some days I feel like all of the life is drained out of me and I really want to just give up. The physical and emotional demands of single motherhood itself, one teenager, one preteen & an 8 year old can become overbearing.

2. How has Motherhood surprisingly inspired you?

Motherhood has inspired me to connect more with God for everything. I never used to pray, now I pray about everything. There were so many nights I cried because I didn't know if I was enough for my children. I went through so much hurt to become a mom as well after giving birth that I knew my only survival was through God. Once I really connected with God, I no longer feared becoming a single parent, It was actually a blessing in disguise. I was blessed to become the mother of my children, God chose them for me and me for them. I've learned so much patience and more importantly how to respond with love. My children are the most important people in my life and it is my job to keep them motivated and elevated. I have been more inspired to become more selfless in regards to my day to day as well as achieve all goals that I continuously set for myself. Your children become a reflection of you ... because of this, I always need to be the best me I can be through any & every circumstance. 14 years in I still have the days where I am super overwhelmed and I cry ... but I know that with God I can get through anything.

PM header.png
bottom of page