top of page

Project Motherhood with Vanessa Mercado


1. How has Motherhood been tough for you?

I am a self proclaimed failing perfectionist so I’m very hard on myself. For me, the hardest part of motherhood has been accepting that I will not be perfect at it and that I’m not supposed to be. If, while raising my babies, I continue to judge and criticize myself THAT is what they will learn from me and not all the other things I want them to take away from our time together.

2. How has Motherhood surprisingly inspired you?

I am a 1st gen Dominican American and grew up believing that being a man was just better. Then I had two little girls and my world turned upside down. Motherhood has made me a feminist! An advocate for equity. It has made me more empathetic and compassionate. And all of that has inspired me to spread the message that women can do anything!

PM header.png
bottom of page