top of page

Project Motherhood with Arie Rich


I am the biggest perfectionist and at times it feels like a curse. Motherhood has been tough on me because I often try for things to be perfect when they can't be. I expect too much, from a lot of people. Or expect others to be on the same page as me. Especially as a mother and wife, those roles can be very challenging especially in these early parenting years.

For me, I guess expecting for others to be empathetic. As a mother I feel I often take on a lot of responsibility, and oftentimes I'm not really asking for physical help, but more like moral support. I would feel like I wasn't a good mother and if I had help or I was being seen as a weak parent if I needed help, but what I really needed was someone to say you're doing a "good job, let me know if you need anything from me."

Self love and therapy helped with a lot of those expectations. Learning to put myself first and my reason for doing this, has helped with the journey.

Life doesn't teach you how to be a parent. And that's a life lesson I wish I had gotten way before I thought of having a child.

But here are some ways I am still me:

Making time for myself even if these times are short.

Enjoying a movie or catching up on shows when the little one is asleep or out with my husband.

Reading non parenting books to distract the mind.

Therapy sessions for overwhelming days.

Massages for days when you just need a break.

PM header.png
bottom of page